Skip to main content Deutsch

The Center

Das Zentrum

According to their research foci, the more than 100 members of the Center for Physiology and Pharmacology belong to one of the following institutes/divisions:


The Center for Physiology and Pharmacology has been installed according to the Austrian University Act 2002 and intergrates the Institute of Physiology, Institute of Pharmacology, Institute of Vascular Biology and members of the previous Institutes of Neurophysiology and Neuropharmacology who now are united in the Division of Neurophysiology and Neuropharmacology. For the historical development of each of these institutes please see the respective sub-pages.

Role within the Medical University of Vienna

In congruence with our mission statement, members of the Center for Physiology and Pharmacology are responsible for research and teaching in all areas of these topics. Moreover, several members of the Center are in decisive strategic positions within the University as they head and/or coordinate the following institutions of the Medical University of Vienna:

In addition, numerous members of the Center head research projects funded by the European Commission, by the Austrian Science Funds, or other national and international funding agencies.

As a result, the Center has an external funding rate of about 65% and thereby contributes significantly to the research output of the Medical University of Vienna.